Yoga Convert

I survived!!! That was my first thought after our yoga class ended Monday night. I survived, I can still speak and walk!! It’s a miracle straight from Heaven!!! I couldn’t believe it. And not once did I give up, so I give myself props for that.

I wanted the instructor prior to class starting that I had never ever ever ever done yoga before. She assured me I was not the only one, there were different levels of people in the class and to only do what I felt comfortable doing. She made me feel at ease and I wasn’t as nervous as I had been. She let me borrow a mat, and we found a spot on the floor. My friend and I were able to be mat by mat, so that was nice, but the lady on the other side of me was super nice and very friendly. I slipped my shoes off and BAM! My toes weren’t painted and there we are barefoot talking about pedicures! Ok, not there to compare feet, here to do yoga. Mental note to fix toes.

We started by some simple stretches and I was pleased that I really could touch my toes. That alone is an accomplishment in my book! We would learn a few moves, then go through the whole thing from the top slightly faster. Then a third time through in what I would describe as a fluid pace. Not fast, just fluid, flowing, easing from one pose to the next. She kept assuring us that we could move at our own pace, doing only what we could do.

She would come around, helping each of us a one time or another with a pose. Straightening a leg here, bending an arm there. Always reminding us to breathe. We went worked on our arms, legs, core, breathing, balance, centering. There were only 2 poses that I was not able to do, one was the side plank. The other…well, I’m not even sure what to call it. We used to do it all the time when I was young and slightly more flexible and certainly skinnier, when you lie on your back and your legs and butt are all the way off the ground. You can even prop your in the air hips on your hands. Then, ya know, you made your legs do pretend bicycle moves. Yea. Couldn’t do it. I think I was more distraught that I couldn’t do that than anything. I used to do that all the time!!

Before I knew it, we were all told to assume the “corpse pose”. Point the toes, palms facing up, and just breathe. She turned the lights off, nothing but soothing “zen like” music and relaxing breathing. How did an hour go by so quickly??

It was shockingly relaxing and invigorating at the same time. I was shaky from using every single muscle in my body, yet surprising loose and limber. Huh. Did I……like this???? Yes. Yes, I think I did!!

Luckily they have classes during the day, Saturday mornings, and in the evening. I called our instructor to tell her she had a convert and I would be back. But now I have homework to do before my next class: Find a really cute yoga mat, and practice getting my ass off the ground and into the air. I know I can, I know I can, I know I can…….

3 thoughts on “Yoga Convert

    • I hope you enjoyed reading my blog. Did you understand the move I meant with hips and legs off the ground? All your weight is basically on the shoulders. I don’t know what it was called, but I was for sure mortified that I couldn’t do it! Stay tuned for more updates and thank you for the comment!

Leave a Reply

