Obsession

Ok, ok, I have been MIA….again. I know. I mean, we are well into March, this desire to make this a daily habit should’ve taken root by now, right?? Yea, guess not. I always have the intention, but the follow through, well….that’s another story.

So what is keeping me from my daily writing?? Oh, that’s easy to pinpoint. The Jodi Arias trial. Plain and simple, that’s it.

I have always been a trial watcher. I watched obscure trials well before OJ thrust them into the spotlight. I’m fascinated by the process. Last year it was Casey Anthony. I mean, I was sucked into the daily minutia of the trial. The pacing, the objections, the sidebars. I wish I was smart enough to have become a lawyer when I was out of high school, but armchair lawyering is so much fun. I can practice law without a license and no one goes to jail because of my incompetence. Perfect!

Casey Anthony really brought trial watching to a new level. The hatred the majority of people who knew about this trial was something not experienced in a long time. That beautiful little girl, gone too soon at the hands of her partying carefree mother. When the verdict came back not guilty, I could feel the world stop spinning for a moment. Everyone stopped breathing. It couldn’t be!! Did I hear that correctly??? NOT guilty?? What??

I had to take a break for a while because I was truly disgusted with the entire judicial system. But then along comes Jodi. She has committed a crime so heinous, so brutal, that it has brought the trial watcher back out in me. It has all the aspects of a scripted movie; clean-cut all American Mormon boy hooking up with a pretty girl who seemed to love him so much she converted her faith. It has stalking. It has sex, lies and videotape. LOTS of sex. Audio and videotape. Dirty sexting photos. But most of all, the lies. Endless lies. She lies so much she can’t keep her own lies straight.

I was trying to explain my fascination with it and I think it’s all of those things rolled into one. But mostly, I find watching someone who, in my not-so-professional opinion, is a true sociopath. She has no remorse for what she did. She cries only if it benefits her or to try to illicit sympathy. Even then, she has had to poke a finger in her own eye to make those tears come out.

We’re on the back-end of this trial now, she will be on the stand for a few more days and then a few more witnesses for the defense to try to make what she did seem plausible. But looking purely at all the facts, looking as objectively as possible, she should get nothing less than thank Murder 1. Premeditation has been proven.

The trial is not scheduled to resume until next Wednesday. I’m sure I’ll be shaking and having some type of withdrawal symptoms by then. But come March 13th, you’ll know where I am. Glued to my TV with a bowl of popcorn.

Leave a Reply

