Contractors and Job Crisis?

So we have been having some work done around our house lately. Some by choice. Some not so much. But I have noticed something they all have in common…..

They don’t care!!!

I don’t mean they don’t care about the job they perform. So far, so good. (Knock in wood) But I don’t think they care about getting the job, or being reliable, which to me translates to….they don’t care.

We had to have an ash tree removed due to the dreaded Emerald Ash Borer. We weren’t planning on it, we didn’t budget for it, but our tree was infected and all of them in our street were dying. Down it came. So the process of calling a landscaper to grind out the stump and replace the tree began. Sigh…..

I called so many places I started to lose track. Some called back. Some called back several days later. Some never called back to this day. Really?? Are these companies sooooooo unbelievably bust they can’t even return a phone call? They can basically lose work (aka MONEY) because they are so wealthy they don’t need anymore? What??

Then there’s the contractors who can’t show up on time. We’ve all had those contractors, right?

We’re having our house painted (along with our neighbors who are friends, not the horrible neighbors! Ick!!!) and after several quotes for companies that actually returned calls AND came out to give us a quote, we settled on a reputable company who was also the best overall price. They received accolades on Angie’s List. Fantastic, right?

They showed up late on the first day. I shrugged it off. We picked a color of white (who knew there were so many shades of white??) and a storm started blowing in, so they said they would be back first thing Monday morning to start the actual painting. No later than 8 he said.

So I got up, showered, didn’t exercise cuz I just knew any minute they would be here. Then 9 rolled around. Still nothing. Tap tap tap. 10:30, still no one. I’m getting some cleaning done, but really, where are the painters? By 11:30…. Still no painters so I finally call.

And the guy who answered the phone said he would find out what was happening and call me back. Ask me if he called me back. Go on, ask. The answer is NO. He didn’t.

Then at 2:30, they painters just showed up. Hello! We’re here! Really??? I wasted most of my day stuck here waiting for you and you come riding in like you saved MY day!?? Last I checked, I’m paying you!

At least they’re here now, painting my house. (Although, it just sounded like one fell off my roof and I’m now scared to look outside) and I’ll take some after pictures, if they ever get done.

Now if I can just get my tree replaced before the first snow flakes fall…….

One thought on “Contractors and Job Crisis?

Leave a Reply

