Stay out of my life

I was going to blog about something else, but this is making the rounds today, so it’s a more timely post. There is a letter that a woman from ND wrote that she is planning to hand out on Trick or Treat night stating that she thinks the child at her door asking for candy is overweight and basically saying to be better parents. She goes to the “it take a village” mantra. Sigh……. 

Really?

This woman has decided to take it upon herself to be the fat police and decide who is worthy of a candy treat and who needs a diet plan. This causes me to curse LOUDLY in my head. Very bad words. I will try to keep them in my head and not in this blog posting. I’ll try to edit myself.

That being said, who the BLANK does she think she is??? (See?? Self edited! Aren’t you proud?) How dare she act as site judge and jury on a child. A child she doesn’t know. A child who is just going door to door on the one night a year it’s ok to go up to a strange house and ask for candy. 

Or maybe she does know the child who she hands one of her letters to. Kids on her block or in her area that she sees regularly and has decided she knows what’s best for that child.

Does she know if that child has a medical condition? Or that s/he uses food to cope with a bad home life? Or has recently lost weight and is still losing, but now has been handed a fat letter? How about a million other reasons that child might be considered overweight in her eyes?

The point is, she doesn’t know. She is making a snap judgement based on a 5 second observation between answering her door and hearing “Trick or Treat”. Hmmm, do I give this child candy from my bowl or a page from my stack of letters saying this child should be ashamed of his or her appearance? I think this one gets candy and this one, oh boy, does she need a letter. REALLY???? Again, who the BLANK does she think she is?

This kind of shaming can lead to so many other destructive behaviors. Eating disorders, drinking or drugs, cutting, etc. Internal noise like that can stay with a person for years, if not a lifetime.

And beyond this weight issue, don’t you think it’s time for others to stay out of your life period? We are bombarded daily with new intrusions that no one has the right to make decisions for. From the NSA spying on your website choices, to states deciding on gay marriage, to how far we drive (that bill is going to be decided soon and I will bet money it passes. It’s a new tax, so of course it will pass. Probably with tons of additional spending thrown in there for good measure. Is there any such thing as a clean bill anymore? Ok, I’m way off topic. Sorry.)

How about this, is it isn’t hurting someone else, stay the BLANK out of it! Stay out of my life, my house, my car, my children. They are MINE, not yours. I gladly share WAAAAY more than most people do, but guess what? I do it freely because I want to. But anyone policing my childs weight, how far I drive, how good my health insurance is (which ours is going up astronomically and it’s crazy stupid) and that I “have” to have what someone else has deemed acceptable for MY life, or monitor where I go on the internet or the contents of my email. 

I live a basically quiet, suburban life. Not perfect, not horrible. I think it’s pretty normal. But whether you live a normal life or you’re a crazy party guy, or a far out lunatic,  and everything in between, unless you are infringing on someone else’s life, no one should have the right to tell you what to do.

Do me a favor, you mind what you’re doing, and stay out of my life. 

image1.jpg

Halloween Fat Letter

2 thoughts on “Stay out of my life

Leave a Reply

