I hate November

I think I’m a rare breed. I keep seeing all these posts about how everyone loves autumn and the falling leaves, and crisp night air, hot chocolate, on and on and on. I like fall too. In October. By November I’m over it. But it just gets worse. 

I don’t mind a little cool down from the heat of summer. September usually starts a little bit, then October brings enough to make me shiver. I hate shivering. It makes even my freshly shaven legs feel like I have stubble and I truly hate that. And once that shivering starts, it doesn’t usually subside until May. Maybe April, but that’s pushing it. You would think with all the shivering I do, I would be much skinnier. Sadly, it doesn’t work that way on my body. 

I also don’t mind October because it’s the boys birthday month, and it’s Halloween and pumpkin everything. I do love pumpkin everything. And that’s awesome…..for a month. 

By November I’m so over it. It’s just getting colder and colder. Reports of snow start creeping into the weather reports. S-n-o-w. That is a four letter word in my book. The nights get colder and colder. Last night as we were watching a movie, I realized my feet were so cold that I thought they were frozen. I put on a pair of warm fuzzy socks that were so cute, and they helped….a little. I kept calling my dog over to lay on my feet but even he didn’t want those cold things touching him. And he has FUR!!! 

And November is supposed to be the month of thankfulness and it IS my Mom’s birthday month, so I always feel guilty when I start to be unpleasant in this month. I truly AM thankful for the change of seasons, the beautiful colorful leaves on trees, wrapping my hands around a hot cup of coffee or hot cocoa. Add some mini marshmallows and you have a winner! Pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving dessert. Pumpkin Roll that I make just for Michael because he doesn’t like to share it and I figure he can be selfish with that one thing. I can always make more for those who request my baking services. (Cheesecakes and pumpkin rolls… hit me up peeps!)

And flannel sheets get put on the bed, the down comforter comes out of storage. Fuzzy socks and warm mittens get moved to easy access shelves and drawers. Homemade scarves and Ugg boots stay by the front door. But my flip flops stay in the closet. It’s just wrong to put them in the basement waiting for spring to arrive. They would be sad and lonely!

It makes it so difficult for me to go out and run or walk. It hurts me to the core of my bones. Feels like they could snap any second. And the pain from that takes hours to heal. So I tend to NOT do it. And then when spring does roll around, it’s pretty damn evident that I haven’t gone outside, lived in sweatpants and comfort food. 

Yea, I’m not a fan of November. It’s the beginning of a vicious cycle. 

BUT………

This year, I’m going to try my hardest to fix what I can fix. I can’t stop the cold (I do live in Central Ohio after all), but I can work out inside. I’m going to try to find a gym that allows low month to month memberships and perhaps join for 6 months. I’m going to keep going to yoga, even though its pitch dark in the evenings and I might not want to leave my comfy warm couch. I’m making a pledge to myself to go. I’ll dig out the softest warmest blanket and claim it as my own. I’ll indulge in that hot cocoa when my insides are quivering, but I’ll savor it and enjoy it. I’ll look forward to what is to come instead of looking at what is over. 

And I’ll be thankful I can look outside at the leaves changing and falling from the warmth of my couch. 

2 thoughts on “I hate November

Leave a Reply

